Command E

I have looked at Image Based Lighting for a long time, and being an avid photographer I believe I understand a little of capturing location specific lighting with a chrome sphere. What I would like to know is what are the best steps in determining when and where this can be applied in EIAS3D to achieve better lighting solutions given that I can't capture lighting for all scenes.

Of course I may completely misunderstand IBL which maybe why I haven't used it earlier.

Michael

Hey Michael and Joe,

Hmmm, when and where iBL can be applied.  I can answer your question first Joe.  The presets that came with V9 are just set too high in the GI Sky Light Settings.  For Example, if you select the Golf Course A, you have to set the intensity to .2 and it will work fine.

If you want to drop your model into a photo scene or if you want intricate reflections and refractions are uses for ibl.

At it's core Image Based Lighting is just lighting the scene with one image.  It gets complicated because people usually attach a matching reflection image and a backdrop image and maybe a sun to make directional shadows.  I see more people using one image for everything versus the three different ones.  ONE big difference with other lighting, specular highlights usually are flattened out which is why people add a sun and lights just for specularity. (there is GI glossy for this as well).

I got an understanding by looking at Ian's video in the gallery under Rendering, Rotoscoping.

This might help http://www.intuitionusa.com/1/ibl.png

Ok, first problem... I don't have any presets!? Golf Course A... where do I find that? It's not in the EI Presets folder in v9.1. Were the presets issued with v9.0 and not with v9.1? If so where can I get them from?