SHUFFLE 2021

AVTPro

Here's the latest project I worked on for Daniel Lee museum exhibition, Shuffle 2021.

I modeled, textured, rigged and animated also cloth sims. I worked in Zbrush, Maya and Marvelous Designer.  Then everything was passed to David Wu who polished the look with rendering and shaders in EIAS v.10 beta. He also did the music.

Special Thanks to Tomas who supported the software with advanced technical features.
Enjoy.

Character Animation Render:
https://youtu.be/dOc-nkHzxjU

Snippet from Museum
https://youtu.be/N4df6uVdQYg

avtpro_269400410_1248669742282293_2846406026488722980_n.jpg

avtpro_266922817_100792882453000_6598936625033916093_n.jpg

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 12/24/2021 at 11:29 AM, joseph56 said:

Looks cool!

Was it rigged in EIAS too?

How far is EIAS 10 in the development process at this point?

Thanks Joe.  I’ve been a Maya/EIAS user for years so I use both. I work as a problem-solver on the front end of a production no matter with what or where the final product is finished. (https://avtpro.gumroad.com/). Normally I rig in Maya. I hate to admit it, but when I first started rigging this project I was rushing because I had so many other parts to do. So I rigged and skinned it in Mixamo hoping to get it done quickly.  Tomas once told me Mixamo is good for basic work only. Now I know what he meant. Usually Mixamo is OK for mocap but for key-framing it was problematic because Mixamo gave me weird bone orientations. It may not have been Mixamo fault. I may have caused the problem re-adjusting joints to better fit the character's skeleton. I don’t quite recall now because I was also busy modeling and texturing. The Mixamo skinning was great but the joints were not correct so I may have moved them and didn't reorient them. That was a "No-No".   So instead of animating one axis for an arm swing, unfortunately I had at least two axis to manipulate. This is something I would always avoid as a technical rigger had I started the rig from scratch